What Does an Instructional Technologist Do?

Whats one of the first questions someone asks you upon meeting you for the first time…what do you do?  When I tell people that I’m an Instructional Technologist, I often get this look of bewilderment with their eyebrows raised and the next question I get is, what’s that?  I think the most important part of my title is actually the instructional part.  Technology, of course, is part of my job, but the instructional part is what makes it all worth while for me.  So, to answer the question, what does an instructional technologist do…

  • Evaluate new technologies to discover new and better ways to enhance instruction
  • Assist faculty in discovering methods of improving their instruction with and without technology
  • Conduct training sessions teaching faculty and staff how to use new technologies
  • Conduct research studies evaluating the use of technologies and their impact on student learning outcomes
  • Create training materials to accommodate the self-learners and provide resources for our “customers”
  • Manage the implementation of new technologies on-campus for the use of instruction

The above list gives an overview of what I do on my job.  I would suspect that all Instructional Technologists  have similiar duties, but depending on the type of environment you work in they could definitely vary quite a bit.

7 Comments »

  1. […] https://instructtech.wordpress.com/2008/10/16/what-does-an-instructional-technologist-do/ GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "technology"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_below_post"); […]

  2. […] https://instructtech.wordpress.com/2008/10/16/what-does-an-instructional-technologist-do/ […]

  3. […] https://instructtech.wordpress.com/2008/10/16/what-does-an-instructional-technologist-do/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Uncategorized on October 4, 2012 by ilearnonthego. […]

  4. Hi there, I found your web site via Google while searching
    for a related subject, your web site came up, it seems good.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply turned into aware of your weblog thru Google, and located that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate for those who continue this
    in future. Lots of other folks might be benefited out of your writing.

    Cheers!

  5. What’s up to every body, it’s my first visit of this webpage; this
    web site carries amazing and actually excellent information designed for readers.

  6. Alfred said

    You can certainly see your skills within the work you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not
    afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  7. Reblogged this on Chy's Little Piece of Coffee-fueled Brilliance and commented:
    Love this… very straightforward explanations of what my job entails! Thanks!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

